Spoon

Spoon is a picture book written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by Scott Magoon and targeted to all ages. It’s about spoon, who can’t stop comparing himself to the other utensils, and assumes fork, knife, and chopsticks have it better than him. Little does he know that he has many other features and things to be grateful for, and he’s not the only who’s envious! The moral is to try not to compare yourself to others, and to always be grateful for what you have. You have much more than you think, and you’re not the only one who’s going through hard times. The moral is definitely very important, being extremely self-critical is a big issue today, especially with media. I, myself, am guilty of constantly comparing myself- whether it’s grades, appearance, or things that I can’t control. It’s a common problem, but this book is a great reminder that we all need to hear. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I hope younger kids will view themselves in a different way instead of being self-critical after reading this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *